Multi Racing World Champions

Chart of World Championships by Country

A look at the history of FSR Endurance shows Germany have dominated the World Championships since records began. But is this the whole picture? Germanys total has been bolstered by Rudi Hoffman’s and Ronny Riedel’s largely unchallenged 5 and 3 wins in 35cc respectively. The German team is still strong though, spearheaded by the amazingly consistent Hof Family.
Since CMB have been producing a 35cc engine, the picture has changed, with CMB owner Mauro Braghieri from Italy now setting the standard in the 35cc class. Mauro is, at the time of writing, the most successful individual racer with 8 titles to his name (3 x 15cc, 2 x 27cc and 3 x 35cc). Mauro was unable to attend the 2016 iMBRA World Championships due to ill health, but we expect him to be back to his best in 2018.
In the 27cc class, Mauro leads with 2 titles, but iMBRA Vice-President Erich Costa will be looking to grab the honours in 2018, with Steven Kindt (Belgium), top boat designer Valter Seljak (Italy) and Ian Folkson (Great Britain) also amongst the contenders.
In the Blue Riband 15cc class, the lions share of success has been split between the 2 top French racers Erich Costa and Sebastien Videmont with 4 titles apiece, although Mauro claimed the 2014 FSR-World title in a controversy-filled 15cc final. Brit Zack Humphries will undoubtedly want a slice of the action in 2018 as will Germanys 2017 iMBRA European Champion Christian Hof.
The 7.5cc and 3.5cc classes are less clear cut. In 7.5cc, the leader is Frederick Cederberg of Sweden with 3 titles. Freddie races less these days although he still produces the Falcon, Titan and Boudiccca boats from his Modell Marin business. Hot on his heels is Ludo Smeets from Belgium with 2 titles. 2016 iMBRA Champion Andras Berta from Hungary is currently the ‘in-form’ driver. Can he be stopped in 2018? Martin Fields (Great Britain), Ludo and Dieter Smeets (Belgium) and Evert de Ronde Jr (Netherlands) will all certainly be trying to do so!
The 3.5cc class is pretty even with Sebastien Videmont (France), Andras Berta (Hungary), Christoph Schneider (Germany) and Dave Marles (Great Britain) all on 2 titles each. We expect the 2018 Championship to be closely fought, with Brit Zack Humphries, Valentinas Pumputis and Germany’s Winnie Ott also having a say in the outcome.

Like and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *