Elmbridge Multi 20220917

Round 8 of the MPBA 2022 Endurance Championship was the Saturday of the 2-day Charity Event held at Elmbridge Model Boat Club. As the season has progressed, we are seeing less and less support for our races. There are many possible reasons for this and it is currently being discussed in the Committee. Proximity to accessible Internationals is one thing that needs to be looked at when planning for the 2023 season.

Detailed Results | Photos | Drivers Championship | Back to Race Hub


Only 3 out of the 9 starters managed a full run. Dave Hole continued his good form from Putten with a top score of 52 in the first round. Hot on his heels though were the 2 juniors. Only Daves driving beat Jackson, but Thomas will need a faster boat to trouble the seniors although he did win the second heat outright! The second round was littered with stoppages so nobody improved their placings. Dave puts some daylight between himself and Iain Pickersgill with this win. Only one of these 2 can win the title this year now and it’s likely to hinge on the last race.

3.5cc results
3.5cc Podium – Seniors
3.5cc - 1st Dave Hole, 2nd Grahame Morgan, 3rd Iain Pickersgill
3.5cc – The REAL Podium
3.5cc - The REAL Podium - 1st Dave Hole, 2nd Jackson Aykroyd, 3rd Thomas Clements

Best Lap – 19.171 – Graham Morgan


Only 4 boats in 7.5 and 3 in 15 so we combined them into one race. Surprisingly, the top 3 were all 7.5s. Mike Gelson was uncharacteristically having bogging issues all day with his 15cc boat although he did enough laps to win that class. Andrew Aykroyd takes the win and it’s now between Andrew and Robert Daniel for the 2022 7.5cc drivers title.
Geoff Parmenters trusty Pegasus unfortunately took a near fatal blow after a freak accident with Andrew Aykroyd:

Geoffs Damage

7.5cc results
7.5cc Podium
7.5cc - 1st Andrew Aykroyd, 2nd Geoff Parmenter, 3rd Steve Clements

Best Lap (And all 10 fastest in the heat) – 16.855 – Andrew Aykroyd


Only 3 entrants in the 15cc which is really poor. Is the writing on the wall for 15cc? Or will the noise issues associated with the 27cc class keep the 15cc in business for some time yet? At Internationals, there are still plenty of 15cc entries.
Everyone seemed to have issues today and nobody did a full run. They all got beat by 7.5s. Not great.
Mike Gelson has the 2022 drivers title in the bag – A long time since his last win in 2009!

15cc results
15cc Podium
15cc - 1st Mike Gelson, 2nd Vlad Getov ,3rd Mike Holliday

Best Lap 18.234 – Mike Gelson


We saw some of the best racing of the day between Andrew Aykroyd and James Taylor before James broke his engine. Oddly none of the 27 scores beat the top 3 of the 7.5s which is very unusual. Andrew edged Dave Marles to take the win. Andrew has the drivers championship wrapped up on 182 points.

27cc results
27cc Podium
27cc podium - 1st Andrew Aykroyd, 2nd Dave Marles, 3rd Steve Whenham

Best Lap 15.146 – James Taylor

A final word

The low number of entries is again disappointing, particularly in the 7.5 and 15cc classes. Look at how many we had back in 2009

Previous Round
Next Round
Like and Share

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *