Peterborough Multi NDC R1

After the snow of the last few weeks interfering with testing, everyone was grateful for the perfect spring day that greeted them at Peterborough for round 1 of the 2018 MPBA Multi National Drivers Championship.

3.5cc – With 2017 3.5cc Champion Mark Wraight electing to sit the event out to save wear and tear on his boat for 2018, and the usual pre-race #banter on Facebook producing a damp squib between the main protagonists, Dave Clay took the win from Dave Hole and Martin Hillstead. Thomas grabbed top junior spot having beaten the lap scores of many seniors.
[Click images to enlarge]

3.5 Podium

Dave Clay Ikarus

Dave Hole Falcon 1

Martin Hillstead shows consistent form by grabbing 3rd spot with his Mini Potenza

A Specsavers moment for Dave Pillman with this shameful attack on junior Miha

7.5cc – Dave Pillman redeems himself with a maiden win for his new Pegasus Evo. We were there for a pre-season test session of this boat. While it was clearly fast, there were some serious ride issues. Kudos to Dave for sorting these problems out before the first race. Steve Clements takes 2nd place and 2017 7.5cc Drivers Champion Mick Szebeko claims 3rd spot. Andrew Aykroyds first race since re-entering the 7.5cc class went reasonably well and he can expect to be on the podium this year when he gets a full run in.
[Click images to enlarge]

A good first outing for Andrew Aykroyds ex-Waumsley Pegasus 2

Another Specsavers moment as Dave Pillman and Mick Szebeko clash

15cc – Let’s get the results first – Phill Fields takes the win with the best T7 in the country. He surely must be considered a strong contender for the iMBRA World Championships in France this year. Sam Lincoln takes 2nd ending a string of bad luck towards the end of 2017. 2017 Drivers Champion Terry Holmes takes 3rd spot.
That’s done with the triumphs, now onto the tragedy.
We were all waiting to see the first outing of Mark Wraight’s new Seljak design boat. Mark had spent countless hours patiently building his new boat to a very high standard. See the Full step-by-step build. So we were surprised (Some say not surprised) to see Mark driving ultra-aggressively first time out with an boat that still required some trimming to be fully race-ready. Unsurprisingly, this resulted in a collision or two, the last one causing significant damage to his brand new boat. Oops.
[Click images to enlarge]

A not-so-good first outing for Mark Wraights new 15cc boat

What can we say? A Leopard can’t change it’s spots

27cc – Faultless runs by winner Mick Pain, with Terry Holmes taking 2nd and 2017 Drivers Champion James Taylor 3rd. Not the best day out for James or Ian Folkson who are normally vying for the win in this class.
[Click images to enlarge]

Terry and Mick Pain battle it out

Terry and Mike Lawson fight for position

Previous Round
Next Round
Like and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *